Some people believe that there is a general rise in antisocial behavior and disrespect for others today. What could have caused this situation and how to improve it?

It is believed by many that, in today’s society, there has been an increase in antisocial behaviour and disrespect for fellow citizens. There are two main causes of this negative development, and two counter-measures can be identified to remedify this problem, which will be discussed now.

The main reason to antisocial behavior is stress. People today are burderned with work pressure; thus, hectic workload may cause people to adapt to antisocial behavior such as drinking, smoking, and substance abuse. They may do this in order to relieve stress, relax, and rejuvenate themselves.

Another cause can be attributed to the wide availability of alcohol. People can easily purchase them at any restaurants and supermarkets. Besides, convenience store, such as Family Mart and 7-11, sell them 24 hours a day, which may also increase crime rate due to people being under the influence of alcohol, especially during night time. Imbibing alcohol may lead to aggressive behaviour, particularly, in teenagers and young adults who are unable to handle themselves after getting drunk.

Turning to the possible remedies, the first way is to eliminate the source of stress. Employers must ensure that they do not give too much work to their employees. Indeed, it is important to have challenging goals, but they should be realistic so employees can have a better work-life balance. Therefore, enabling them to be less stressed and more content with their work and personal life. If they do have a reason which is making them suffer, they are more likely to stick to healthier way of living life. Another viable solution is the government enacting regulations on the sale of alcohol. They can do so by limiting the time for its sale. In addition, authority can impose heavy taxes on alcohol and cigrattes. Hence, many might be dissuaded from purchasing them if they are expensive.

In conclusion, antisocial behavior and disrespectful attitude be connected to work-related stress and alcohol consumption. Effective measure like employers contribution to reduce work and government’s legislation on timings to sell alcohol and cigrattes might help to address the problem to some extent.