Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that circumstances of an individual crime, a motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

Discuss both the view and give your own opinion.

Imprisonment of criminals is essential to maintain law and order in society. It is contended by some that punishment for every criminal activity should be standardized while others advocate that situations under which crime is committed should be taken into account. This essay supports the latter argument and will discuss both the views.

Firstly, it is assured that fixed punishment will expedite judgment and reduce crime rate. Since magnitude and type of sentence would have been defined in the law books, this would make easier for the judges to pass judgment against criminal proceedings. As a result, number of cases pending in courts would be reduced and timely delivered justice would create a fear among bad elements of the society. For instance, as per survey conducted by Times Now, in Saudi Arabia due to system of defined punishment, crime rate is 69% low as compared to its neighboring countries.

The above argument is not that logical as it sounds. Human activities are greatly influence by surrounding situations. Crime is no different. There can be different reasons for committing murders. One can be done intentionally because of personal revenge and other can result from an accident as an act of self defense. Same punishment for both persons is totally unfair. Similarly, a mother stealing food from a shop to feed his child is entirely different from a corrupt government employee misusing public funds for his personal adventure.

So, as explained above, in my view justice can be delayed for sometime but the circumstance should always be kept in mind while deciding sentence for a criminal or a person, as it is matter of life of that person.