Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by many that death penalty should be given for harsh offences but others believe that it should never be given to anybody. This essay will discuss both the views however this is inclined towards the former view. Death penalty where proves effective in reducing crimes also have a threat of victimization of innocent people.

Those who favour sentence to end life of criminals contend that it is an effective way to keep crime under check. If serious offenders, like the ones committing murder, breaching national security or rapist , are hanged till death, then only law enforcement can create fear among rest of the people to behave like civilized citizens and prevent them from becoming barbarous. For instance, in Saudi Arabia due to capital punishment, crime rate is 60% low as compared to Kazakhstan where death sentence is not allowed.

Beside above, proponents proclaim that hanging till death does not give a second chance to an innocent person who is victimized. In most the cases, the person who has committed the crime is far from the reach of law and a poor or innocent person gets trapped in the loops of court. In rare cases, due to shortage of proofs of his innocence and pressure by real criminals on administration, he is declared guilty of the crime and hanged. In such cases, if he is found not guilty later on, the life of deceased person cannot be returned back.

So as discussed above and in my opinion if thorough investigation is done before final verdict, victimization of innocents can be avoided but capital penalty is necessary to keep crime under control.