Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Criminal activity nowadays is increasing at an alarming rate. Some people believe that the ultimate way to punish criminals is the death penalty while others negate this notion by stating that it is not the best punishment for every crime. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and then explain why I agree with the aforementioned statement.

To begin with, capital punishment is unnecessary for society. A single wrong decision of the judiciary can lead to the death of an innocent person. Moreover, we, as humans have no right to kill other humans, without giving them a second chance to improve their behavior or bring a change in their lives. As an illustration, Bollywood actor, Sanjay Dutt, who was sent to prison for 10 years, was released from prison on terms of good behavior such as giving motivational speech daily on radio and engaging in various activities of the lock-up. Therefore, this shows that even people committing heinous crimes deserve a second chance to become better individuals in life.

On the other hand, the death penalty for serious crimes such as rape or murder is considered an effective deterrent. The prominent way to give a reality check to criminals is by showing the consequences of their actions. For instance, terrorism in Saudi Arabia is controlled by giving death penalties to individuals part of terrorist organizations. As a result, there is a wave of fear among the citizens, who are even leaning towards such detrimental acts. Furthermore, a decrease in the number of prisoners due to such harsh punishments can ultimately result in a reduction of budget allocated for prison management. Hence, these funds can be better utilized for the welfare of society.

In conclusion, though capital punishment sounds optimum for perilous crimes, it is always preferable to find alternatives for bringing a difference in the attitude of individuals involved in such activity. Thus, I totally agree with this notion that execution is not always a fair means of judgment.