Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that volunteer work should become an obligatory part of high school programs. In my opinion, this development can be beneficial for youngsters in different ways.

First of all, community service can give teenagers the opportunity to gain work experience in different realms. Children try a variety of jobs and can find an interesting and suitable one for their future career. Teaching younger children, for instance, allows an adolescent to examine an educator's job and learn whether he wants to work with children as an adult or not. Indeed, this valuable experience may help youngsters to choose a life path after leaving school.

Secondly, public work enhances youngsters' social skills and physical health. Unfortunately, today many children spend their spare time watching TV or playing computer games. These activities are harmful to their fitness and lead to children's isolation. However, community work usually includes interaction with a lot of different people and require some physical activities. Therefore, it is a great way to keep young people fit and sociable.

Finally, volunteer work improves teenagers' perception of adulthood with its necessity to earn a living and teach them to spend money wisely. Also, young people might be encouraged to appreciate another person's work after learning how hard and important it may be. Undoubtedly, compulsory community service makes adolescents more mature and prepared for their adult lives.

In conclusion, I support the idea of making unpaid public work a compulsory task for high school pupils because it may give them useful work experience, improve their social skills and understanding of adulthood.