Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that volunteer work should become a required part of high school programs. I agree with this opinion because this development can be beneficial for youngsters in different ways.

To begin with, community service can give teenagers the opportunity to gain practical skills in different realms. Teaching younger children, for instance, allows trying educator's job. Such experience can be useful in a teenager's future career.

Secondly, working for a community enhances youngsters' social skills and physical health. Unfortunately, today many children spend their spare time watching TV or playing computer games. These activities can harm their fitness and lead to children's isolation. However, social work usually includes interaction with a huge amount of people and some physical activities. Therefore, it is a great way to keep young people sociable and healthy.

Finally, unpaid work can help adolescents to understand the process of earning a living and teach them to spend money wisely. Young people will appreciate other people's work after learning how hard and important it can be. Indeed, understanding, well-educated young people with some work experience is advantageous for society.

In conclusion, I support the idea of making unpaid social work a compulsory task for teenagers because it can give them useful work experience and improve youngster's lives and their self-esteem.