Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that coursework of high school students should essentially consist of voluntary community work. In my opinion, such arrangement is warranted as it will encourage young people to develop interests for their community and help them with vital social skills.

First and foremost, children need to have a sense of responsibility for their society. Since, a society invests resources heavily in a child in many different ways for his all-round development, children are obliged to repay this contribution by providing services to the members of the immediate community. Currently, a growing number of people seem to lack concern for the place where they grew up and received education as many go abroad for further education and work.

This trend has seen community efforts for raising children go in vain. Therefore, it is imperative that unpaid community services are made obligatory for pupils in high school for them to provide with insight into the real challenges facing their community, develop sincere concern and encourage them to find solutions with a selfless attitude.

Moreover, children appear to live in an isolated world with little or no real interaction these days. In order for the high school boys and girls to develop vital social skills such as interpersonal relations, leadership and effective communication, it is essential that the educational institutions provide an opportunity for the students to participate in community service where they can learn these useful people skills. To illustrate, Nepal has recently introduced a module for their senior students in high school which mandates them to complete a given project in the community. The first batch of students who were involved reported that they could learn many social dynamics by getting involved in activities such as teaching music and sports to kids in the locality.

To sum up, it really is important for schools to make voluntary work in community a mandatory requirement. such voluntary engagements will help students develop interests in their own immediate neighbourhood and nurture social skills.