Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food that throws away?

Wasting food has been seen as a growing phenomenon across the world. consumer behavior and eating for socialization are primary causes of this growing trend. A more conscious effort and more priority to quality over quantity while buying can help solve the problem.

To begin with the causes, growing economy creates an artificial demand for commodities in middle-class and high-class families which has resulted in people wanting to buy more food than they actually need. Subsequently many food cans bought from the supermarkets remain in shelves of the kitchen well beyond their expiry date before they can be put in use. this clearly indicates people buy more out of free will then need-based compulsion.

Moreover, people have found spending money recklessly on eatables as a medium to show prosperity and social rank. It is no more surprising to see people seating around a round table and ordering dishes way more than they can consume. A recent study conducted in China has shown that people are less likely to squander money in such wasteful eating if family sits together on a meal in a restaurant while, same numbers of people dining for a business meeting are likely to order twice as much.

As a solution, people should be encouraged to buy food items and consumables with more conscious choice at restaurants and marts. When people are reminded about items of immediate need and use, they will refrain from picking up commodities such as chocolates and cookies, they would buy just for shelving. Also, homes would not spoil and throw away a great deal of discarded food commodities if they had given priority to quality of their purchase rather than the amount.

In summary, Consumerism and socialization are the main reasons behind people throwing away food undesirably. By making informed decisions before buying things and eating better food than more food could reduce the wastage.