Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative

impact on both individuals and society.To what extent do you agree?

use of online portals for forming social networks has gained worldwide popularity. it has both merits and demerits and it all largely depends on how it is used. To argue that online providers of social networking has only influenced the society in a negative way would be unfair.

To begin with, there are numerous benefits of websites like Facebook. The most important of all is the ability they provide to the users in sharing information. In fact, it has bridged the gap between societies living miles apart by allowing them a means to know each other and engage in informal conversations. What is more, the entire world seems to have turned into a global village by enabling people to have a medium to interact across borders and share knowledge and experience. A number of social platforms are being used for rallying people and launching campaigns for good causes, which is a good example of their efficacy in terms of information sharing.

On the other hand, these websites are increasingly misused by many young people around the world. these people often tend to spend time wastefully by posting unnecessarily. such instincts can lead to addiction and anti-social behavior. Moreover, school children can fail to realise their full potential if they are not mindful of their online activities, esp use of such sites. To illustrate, according to a survey in Nepal 80% of high school students who had an account on a social networking site had poor grades in their final exams. This clearly suggests these sites have certainly resulted into lack of creativity for students.

In conclusion, being an active user of a social site can be informative and educative, but it depends on who uses it and how. students and other people who do not apply themselves, suffer and become unproductive.