Studies show that criminals get a low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays an important role in curbing crime in society. A good education enables a person not only to thrive financially and thereby follow moral ways for prosperity but also to develop appreciation for virtues and become a well-rounded and responsible individual. In this context, although it is meaningful to have some educational measures directed exclusively for inmates, it will be too optimistic to think that will make our society a safe place to live and free from crime.

To begin with, corrective measures taken at prisons for people who have been convicted of a crime and found guilty will make them realise their wrongdoing. Regardless of his education level, this will deter him from relapsing into old ways when he is free again. In Norway, for example, many criminals never take a criminal path again in their life after serving a time for their first crime because of the effective vocational trainings and psychological therapies provided to them in the rehabilitation centres. Specially provided education capacitates the first-time offenders locked up in cells to secure jobs and eventually curb his instincts for wrong behavior once they are set free.

However, if a society has to really get free from violence and any kinds of criminal activity, good values and virtuosity will need to be inculcated from an early age. In order for this, our curriculum should be remodelled and young children should have a value based education that encourages them to understand the importance of diversity and tolerance in society and overall, an appreciation of the beauty of humanity. only an equanimous society built on morality can see through ups and downs and follow the law of order.

In conclusion, educational programs aimed at inmates, no matter what their level of education, can deter them from reoffending once they have served their time in prison by developing self-confidence and self-reliance. however, it is important that the governments also aim at reducing the instances of people taking to anti-social behavior and causing violence for the first time by edifying and instructing them for morals and ethics in classrooms.