Some people say that all young people should have full-time education until they are 18 years old. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many young children in some countries are living as boarders and many believe this could be the trend in the times to come. In my opinion, parents should consider raising their children under their own tutelage and send them to schools only as day pupils before 18 before allowing them to move away only for higher education.

To begin with, parents can only have a greater empathy towards their children and can accommodate their needs in a better way at home. Although warden of the school hostel might be trained in child psychology, students' guardians are in a better position to understand the needs of their children as they grow. Moreover, teens are not able to relay their feelings more openly to their teachers. For example, children tend to share their emotions, vulnerabilities and weaknesses with their fathers and mothers because of their reciprocal love and filial piety. Furthermore, children need to experience the nature of affection and bond they can have with their siblings at home which would go amiss while at school.

Secondly, children are more likely to learn the right behaviour and develop a good conduct in homely environment under the guidance of their parents than left on the mercy of teachers at school. Studies suggest young people relate to their parents and other immediate family members while learning to respond to social situations and they often copy them in their mannerisms. On the other hand, students who are admitted as full-time students often seem to lose way in the want of right counselling and good advice. Take for example, the rising concern of teenage addiction to drugs and alcohols. this is partly due to absence of good parentage in childhood.

However, some people tend to argue that children cannot learn to be independent if they stay at home. this is chiefly because some parents are overprotective and pamper their whims which sometimes can spoil children. In this respect, parents should allow space for self-development in order for them to think for themselves and make good decisions on their own.

In conclusion, parents should not consider assigning their children entirely to the care of schools. By attending schools as day pupils, children can draw a better response from parents for their needs and learn ethical and moral aspects for behaving well and responsibly for themselves and others.