Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood .The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are responsible for bringing child up. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

In many cultures, societies expect women to be solely responsible for raising children simply because of their decision in child birth while fathers are allowed to enjoy fatherhood without having to bother too much about care needed by the child. This is harsh on women and role of father in nurturing children certainly should not be overlooked.

First and foremost, the notion that a woman alone decides having a child is mistaken. when Parenthood is planned by a couple, it is often based on a mutual understanding and hence, both partners are equally responsible for the care and development of their children. However, patriarchal societies all over the world often have a stereotype which relates a child's care with motherhood and women have to bear the brunt of such a fallacy. such an overly optimistic expectation on women is unreasonable and there should be a change in the way how society looks at fatherhood so that women alone are not held accountable for bearing and nurturing a child.

Moreover, in modern times due to dual careers it becomes even more expedient for both the parents to share their responsibilities equally for the child. What we practised in the past has to be changed as many situations have taken a U-turn from the past. For example, there are mostly one-child families in many developed countries which is a deviation from the last decades and also a testimony of the fact that working parents find it increasingly hard to manage to accommodate time and efforts needed in care of more than one child. Therefore, in these changing times when men and women are believed to be equal at workplace it will be unjust and inequitable for us to have unreasonable expectations on women for child's lone care.

In conclusion, decisions in family matters are often consensual and father has an equal role in giving birth and growing a child. Gender related stereotype for child care should end for women and responsibilities must be shared between the couple in bringing up children and work around the house. simply put, the way we look at fatherhood has to change.