In countries where unemployment is high, education should only be obligatory up to primary school and not secondary school. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Lack of enough job creation is an impediment to the development of a country. Governments struck with such a problem, however, have been unable to deal with it effectively and many nations have been tempted to lower the bar for requirements of mandatory education to just basic schooling in order to encourage young people to enter the workforce. However, in my opinion this is a negative trend and public education to high school should be absolutely compulsory for individuals to become self-employed and career oriented.

Firstly, when schooling to secondary level is mandated, young people seek to become independent. It is not only the academic lessons they learn at school which make them confident but it's more about everyday life skills such as communication and team work they master in class environment which eventually make them self-reliant and accountable to their future. As a result, growing number of people have been found to run their own business, for example, by getting involved with a grocery shop or a mart from a very early age due to the exposure and motivation they get in the middle and high school for a better life.

Secondly, students who have completed their high school, tend to continue their learning to colleges and universities in hope of better long-term work opportunities. Since, extra-curricular activities and involvement in clubs can provide necessary skills that might be useful while looking for a part-time job at campus, young aspirants can pursue further studies with greater optimism and career goals. Even in developed world such as the United States, many wards from lesser well-to-do families carry on with their studies beyond high school with support from short-term stints at different facilities at the campus and university.

In summary, all countries irrespective of their employment rate should make it a legal requirement for young people to pass high school, which will bolster individuals with necessary skills and offer them opportunities for shouldering financial responsibilities and striving towards enhanced career pursuits.