Some people think cars are the best way to get around a city, while others prefer cycling. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In some modern cities, people commute mostly by private cars while in some other environment-friendly nations people often ride bicycles to schools and offices in city areas. An often contested subject is whether people should drive cars or ride bicycles for mobility inside a city. this essay will examine both positions before arriving at a reasoned conclusion.

First and foremost, many city dwellers have a very hectic lifestyle and they need to move back and forth between many different locations in a day. this often means the necessity of a faster and reliable mode of travel for them and having a private vehicle fulfills that need. Moreover, a car makes it very convenient for the entire family to go and visit relatives together which is not possible in case of cycling. What is more, riding a bicycle on streets for children and elderly can be fraught with danger with fast moving traffic and fumes from buses and trucks to contend with.

On the other hand, many people are concerned that motor vehicles are a threat to our overall health. such worries are not unwarranted as the fumes from the rising number of private vehicles often cause air pollution affecting the quality of city life. Furthermore, lifestyle diseases like diabetes and hypertension are the upshot of people not doing enough physical exercise which is evident in the choice of luxury that the modern cars provide. it is for these reasons, many people feel the need to use bicycles. What is more, moving in cars to traverse even short distances in cities such as Tokyo and New Delhi is extremely time consuming because of the traffic congestion while, bicycles make navigating through these congested roads fast and convenient.

To sum up, people who need to travel in groups and frequently for business have a point in choosing cars. Whereas, those who are driven by the concern for their own health and the well-being of the fellow city dwellers seem to embrace the use of bicycles. In my opinion, cycling to nearby places and only using cars for distant travel is the right balance.