When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern day, it is impossible for a country to develop without making advances in scientific and technological field. but in its bid to keep pace with the developmental trends, is it rational to obliterate its age-long traditions? Definitely no.

To begin with, the influence of technology is ubiquitous. there is hardly any field where technology has not had its footprint. To a great extent, it has become the need of the hour as we currently live in a populous world where resources are depleting ever so rapidly. To meet our basic necessities of food and shelter, there is no way we can achieve these ends if we don't resort to mass production. Considering ploughing fields by buffaloes even now, for example, will not get us the yield to meet our demands for food. This is why farmers have made a sshift from traditional methods to a more mechanised extensive farming.

However, if a great nation has to stand out in terms of cultural identity, it has to preserve some of its traditions. After all use of technology is global and is not distinctive of any culture. To illustrate, America is a superpower for its adoption of technology and industrialization, however there are other countries such as India and China which are marked by people across the world for having a profound cultural heritage and ancient civilization. it is therefore, indispensable for such countries to preserve their traditions which gives them a unique identity in the world. Moreover, the government should not only encourage the production of handicrafts and other fine arts but also promote the manual weaving textile industry, which probably produces cloth items of a very quality. such promotions will also help local communities to sustain their livelihood by generating good income.

In conclusion, countries have every reason to make inroads in the scientific arena and develop industries. however, a conscious effort should be made where possible to promote our ancient traditions which has a profound influence on our national identity and recognition.