Some people believe that natural ability is necessary to be successful at sports. Others believe that hard work and practice is more important. Discuss both sides and add your own opinion.

Some players are born to be great while others make their name by the virtue of their hard work. Whether natural talent or good work ethics makes one a better sportsman is a much debated topic and this essay will discuss both sides of argument with a personal opinion at the end.

On the one hand, some renowned sport persons simply seem to have unbelievable inborn talent and great set of sporting skills. that is to say, they have a natural predisposition to the game in a way that no other players can match or emulate which makes them stand out from the crowd. For example, no matter how long an amateur cricketer dedicates himself to the nets, he can possibly only dream of playing like Brian Lara who appears to belong to a completely different league and can send the crowd in a state of frenzy with his mesmerizing stroke-play. Undoubtedly, child prodigies who keep at a game and turn it into a professional pursuit end up with greater achievements than others who might spend day in and out at practice in their career.

On the other hand, there are few select ones who deliver their promises by the dint of hardship and dedication. In fact, it is rare to see a player sustain the pressure of the competitive game without putting hard work and dedicating himself to the cause of the game. there are many sports persons who do not realise their full potential and are not able to deliver the expectations of their fans because of not taking practice sessions or the daily exercise regime seriously. Yuvraj Singh who is an Indian cricketer is a good example of unfulfilled promises.

Personally, I believe success at sports is a combination of both. Strong innate qualities and temperament for a sports when coupled with a strict discipline at the game can make a sportsman achieve remarkable feats and set a precedent for the next generation.

In conclusion, sportsperson who are charismatic make improbable things possible on the sports field while players even with little flair for the game can achieve higher success with stronger work ethics. However, a sportsman having both of these traits will be hard to beat and will have an illustrious career.