Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Advertising is believed to be detrimental by some people in that it often induces them into shopping for things they might not need. For others it enables them to make the right choice for their purchases. In my opinion while advertisements keep us well-informed about the new products in the market, they also act imperceptibly to make an influence on us to get things which are eventually not of an immediate necessity to us.

An important reason promotional videos and commercials on televisions and other mass media are found to be important is that it informs people about the various products that are available in the market from which they can choose from and make the best decision. In absence of proper marketing about things, people would often have no idea about the quality and specifications of products from different brands and they would not be able to compare across brands. This would often lead people into making bad decisions and leave them regretting for entire period of having that item with them. Urban people who are exposed to adverts everywhere they go, seemingly distracted in first few incidences, start finding them useful as they help to remind them of the value different brands can bring once possessed.

On the other hand, advertisements can sometimes make people buy things they don't need at all. A sight of a flyer or a banner with a promotional scheme can make an impulsive shopper get things from the shopping malls and supermarkets without thinking whether he will ever have a chance to use it. Such types of uncontrolled behavior often lands food items and other consumables in the shelf of those peoples' kitchens for an iNdefinite period of time.

In my opinion, advertisements help people to enlighten about the choices they have at their disposal and exercising discretion and some restraint, to go for the best line of products. However, all consumers are not equally apt at making the correct choice and they might be misguided by the temptations to posses things which might bear little significance to them.

In summary, advertisements act both as source of information and detractor for prospective consumers. while some people benefit by making the right purchase, other might be lulled into shopping extravagantly and wastefully.