Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Domestic refuse and garbage seems to be a major concern for municipal governments as few people care about recycling wastes. While making it a legal requirement for people to reuse certain kinds of wastes can be an important step, it will not achieve the intended results if the government doesn't establish recycle centres for bringing those wastes into use again.

To begin with, many people are wasteful and throw away things which are still serviceable. it is for those people the litigation against disposing wastes might seem to be effective because they will be forced to find a wiser choice than throwing them off altogether. Moreover, there are certain items such as plastic hand bags which should be banned completely and if people are found littering these non-degradable products, they should be held responsible by institutionalizing mechanisms of fine. This practice has forced citizens to resort to reuse of the paper products in some developed countries such as France.

However, the government is also responsible for providing centres that deal with wastes to make the legal arrangements work effectively. Therefore, government can set up compost centres and provide incentives for people to collect their bio-degradable garbage separately and not mix with plastic materials. In addition, collection systems should be provided for people to dispose different categories of their wastes at a convenient distance from their homes and it should be the role of the government to recycle them. However, if such mechanisms are not complied with and people do not cooperate with the government to help recycle things, there should be clear penal provisions.

In conclusion, enacting laws can demotivate people from throwing away domestic wastes haphazardly and carelessly. However, institutional arrangements and incentives to comply to them also need to be provided for the effective enforcement.