Some people blame the government for the increase in childhood obesity while others think it is the parents’ fault. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Obesity, the root cause for most of the ailments and malfunctions of the body. Who is responsible for the growing obesity in childhood? Is it parents, Government or innocent children? In my views, primary contributor to this cause are the former and to lesser extent the innocent children. Parent being the primary and first teachers of children and Government acting as parents for the entire nation need to take over bigger responsibility for spoiling health of their future wealth i.e. children.

Firstly, we start with the major culprit, the parents. Parents being first role model for their kids and having the narrow responsibility of looking after their own kids only puts them more responsible for getting obesity problem by their children. I do not prefer to put parents in the corner and put all blames on them. But parents have immediate access and visibility to their kids which provides them more understanding of wrong doing, unhealthy eating habits, lack of exercise and outdoor playing. Little responsible look by parents and more focus on spreading awareness in their children about healthy lifestyle and vitality of physical activeness can contribute a lot to making their children fit and healthy.

On the contrary, I have observed that for the sake of inviting investments in the country, government has granted permissions and licenses to various fast food outlets. In additions to permission, theses Mac Donald’s, Subways, Pizza Hut etc have been heavily spending on the advertisements to make their products more lucrative to children by adding Kids meal to their product range. Government at large is heavily responsible for not only make the stage for children to spoil their health but also for wastage of scare resources available to the country in the form of money and healthy human resource.

To conclude, sense of responsibility lies to both government and parents, but parents responsibility outweighs than the government.