Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Today’s economic development, a so called, a rat race game has its own pros and cons. Every development requires shift of scare resources from one use to another. Likewise, economic development has led to shift from human efforts more towards development activities being personal, educational, technical development or societal development in terms of culture, linguistics or on moral grounds. Unfortunately, among various forms of developments, economic development has outweigh the social values. Living in this material world, I agree to the fact the economic development has more merits in its favor than demerits.

At First, we can reiterate that change is law of nature. Nothing is or should be rigid in this world. Even still water is not boon to the human kind. Economic development is a form of change in various aspects of society. Its includes personal, education, monetary and many more. In contrast, it is also truth that we have not seen significant positive change in the social values. In this material world, quantitative benefits has vital importance than the qualitative and so is our social values. People with good eye for fashion does not look for body revealing appeal of the cloths rather than focus on new trends, good looking and luxurious style of cloth. It can be considered as bad fortune of the society but we cannot neglect the personal benefits achieved by the society out of this economic development.

Further, in addition to countless personal benefits, countries are getting lot of money which is getting utilized for developing infrastructure, medical facilities. Today life expectancy has grown very high in comparison to previous era. Although, we need to give due weightage to social values but when the situation comes to choosing among both, people rather go for economic development.

To conclude, economic development is necessity for human kind to live in comparison to social value which gives inner satisfaction to live.