Many countries aim to improve their standard of living by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

countries have different regulations and policies to ensure their citizens living qualities. some are sacrifice their social values to develop their economy technology. Personally speaking, I think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, economic development is largely based on the new construction and Information technology. Those new civilizations have conficted with the traditional culture which resulted from Industrial Revolution and Renaissance. For example, the construction of the new building have to take up the place of historical buildings. In that case, the vital historic meanings behind the building would disappear along with the destruction of the historical building.

While some people pointed out that the economic development has rejected some significant social values, I do belive the development of economy has brought more profits, instead of problems, to the country and individuals. These profits not only include social benefits but also scientific and cultural benefits. The economic development would bring more income for the society and have better community systems. people would get better treatment and education, and hence have more productions, and hence created new cultural values. For example, when amazon has flourished within the whole America, its headquarter in seattle has their brand new buildings constructed to accomodate better programmers and managers. The rising of amazon Company do not generate social problems, instead, they have become a new and compressive culture symbol in the seattle downtown and created more job opportunities for the citizens.

Even though the local culture is the thing we should preserve, we cannot ignore the significance of the economic development. preserving the social value relatively should be considered.