Many companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisement effective? Is it a good thing or a bad thing to the society?

Successful advertising is one of the most common and effective method which a company would exploit to increase their sales, among other methods like good managing control and products qualities improvement. There are several reasons why the company need to make an advertisement effective.

First of all, making an advertisement successful among the public would assist the firm's reputation through the popularity of social media in the most effective way. As is well known that no one can live without the social media in the digital era, and people rely on the phone, computer, and TV so much. In other words, nowadays people's opinions towards products would not be so wide-spread as the social media because of the accessiblity of the modern technology. By making an effective advertisement is, without doubt, the most direct way a company can do to leave the public a certain impression. Secondly, an effective advertisement would save the firm amount of energy and efforts, and gain profits within the least time. compared with other methods to publicize the company, like handing out booklets, giving free sampling to the public and other ways, having the effective advertisement would save lots of time and moeny. Considering the fiscal, handing out the poster or free sampling would require extra labor and time, and the influence would not be so wide, compared with the advertising. Hence, a successful advertising would create the most profits for the company within the least time and money. Thirdly, the effective advertising would lead people towards a positive attitude towards firm's products. In contrast, other methods would not be assure to erect a positive figure as the advertising. In that advertising would guide people to believe the product would be helpful in some certain fields, and in this way, this is more controlling to some extent. By contrast, if a firm wants a product well-known simply by qualities of the products, it is difficult to control individual's opinions.

Personally speaking, I am not sure the advertisement would be a purely good thing even though it would increase a firm's output and help with their reputation. However, disadvantages of the advertisement cannot be omitted, for example, the advertisement would exaggerate their products' influences, and mislead the public. Besides, it would make the company focus on the public influence more instead of the product quality itself.