Many countries aim to improve their standard of living by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important to consider whether economic development has the more merits or the more demerits. In many countries, standard of life is improved by economic development even though they lost some crucial social ethics. In this essay I will discuss both pros and cons, and give my opinion that the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is widely accepted that economic development can harm personal life. The reason for this is that extra hours will be spent by people in companies in order to earn more money whereby they can fulfill their desires and improve their life standard. As a consequence, balance between personal and professional life may not be achieved by them in many cases which may menace their social life. Furthermore, sometime as a result, people becomes self-centered and creates a community of individual who only think about their own wishes. Therefore, conflicts between privileged and underprivileged may arise.

On the other hand, my view is that productivity and efficiency can be gained by economic development. this is because rather that spending in only one sector, governments may spend money in the development of every facilities including water, transport, social, energy and many more. To illustrate, Japan's high speed rail network allows business people to travel from Tokyo to Osaka in 2 hours whereas to drive takes 7 hours. Thereby, people can save their time by which productivity can be achieved. Moreover, education and medical can improve, by which higher qualities of services can be made available which can helps nation to be healthy in every aspect.

In conclusion, while economic development has disadvantages such as dispute and damage to the personal life, advantages like time saving, orderliness and standard of resources can not be underestimated. In my notion, the benefits of economic development outweigh the drawbacks.