Some people say that historical buildings should be knocked down while others say that they should be preserved. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Along with the development of the technology and civilization, the world is changing at a fast speed. Everyday, numerous new buildings have been constructed somewhere in the world. however, in spite of the increasing number of new buildings, there is a heated debate whether we should knock down the historic buildings or not. The following paragraph will help further explain those two ideas.

In terms of the preservation, both views are understandable. For the people who agree to knock down the buildings, several reasons could support this idea. First of all, the facilities in the buildings are outdated and technology to construct buildings is not up to date neither, since the historic buildings have been designed a long time ago. Even though the building owner would like to elongate the bulidings' using time, it will take more time and efforts to renovate the building than tearing down them. Secondly, taking down the historic buildings would help the city plan better. Normally, current city planning theory has developed much more than the past. In the ancient times, people built a house does not come with a lot of reasons, however, in the present, the city would have lots of regulations in terms of the land use. Under this circumstance, historic buildings would not fit into the current city planning that easily. Knocking down the historic buildngs for the city's future development is much reasonable and beneficial.

But keeping the historic buildings is meaningful in some way because these buildings can reflect the city's past. Preservation would help the young generation understand the history of the city better. Besides, preserving the old buildings would help keep the city's unique identity and assist the tourists to know the city's culture easier. When I go to the new york city, and take the empire building's elevator, I felt like living in the 18th century thanks to the preservation of the buildings' interior.

There are both pros and cons to preserve the historic buildings. Perspnally speaking, I am for the idea to knock down the older building if the building does not have many meanings in the city's history. Only moving on without the past can help the city to develop faster and better. Tokyo in Japan is a good example, even though it has been boombed during WWII, the city has developed a more adapative strategy for the city to get along with the new era.