Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

How to encourage employees to keep them enthusiastic towards their daily work is a complicated topic to deal with. In order to reward employees with exceptional performance, some managers will praise those employees with extra money. Whether this behavior is positive impact on the people is a question to consider.

Without doubt, most of staff members would be super excited to get extra money because their hard-working has been paid off by this amount of the stipend. However, I do think the reward should be defined more clearly by the regulation, otherwise, other employees would not be satisfied with this prize. If the contribution the employee is making is irreplaceable, or other staff members agree that this person is worth the praise, this management is effective. For the reason that people would get more frustrated if they know this person is not worth for the bonus, they would not believe in the company would make rational decisions, and even not trust the company any more.

Personally speaking, I believe there are better ways to encourage employees instead of rewarding them with extra money. Firstly, the manager should be confident that the money is the thing this employee wanted the most. As we all know, different individuals have varied wish list because of unique personalities. Some people care about the family more, and love to spend time staying near their family while others like to have more money to purchase the thing they longed for the whole time. Under this circumstance, what if this employee has already made enough money and he/she would love to have some free time with his newly born baby. However, the manager has decided to give him the thing, which is the money, he wanted less. I assume it would not encourage this employee but discourage more because that is not the thing he craved for the most. Besides that, managers can help create a more pleasant working environment to encourage workers to get better at their work.

All in all, knowing what employees long for is the most significant thing for the company, because only in that way, the company would know what is the best way to reward employees.