Some people choose a career according to the social status and salary it will give them. Others choose a career according to whether they will enjoy the work.

Which do you think is the best way to choose a career? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Certain people choose occupation according to perks they will get out of it. Other choose a job where they love their work. I believe the best way to choose is to go after what you love and enjoy doing instead of monetary benefits it brings with it.

As said by ex-president of India APJ. Kalam “choose a job you love and you will never work a single day in your life”. I totally agree with this view of choosing a career. If you love what you are doing, it means you are pursuing your dream job. You will put your heart & soul in your work and you will excel not just in your field but will also work for improvements in your work. This, in turns, will help in career building & will eventually result in social status & monetary perks. This way one will achieve both personal as well as financial satisfaction resulting in self-actualization.

On the other hand, if a person is primarily driven by social status & salary, he/she will undertake whatever pays higher. These type of people see upward trend and rapid rise in their disposable income during early days of their career. However, this type of growth is short term. They switch jobs even for minor perks and are not loyal with organizations they work in. Eventually, employers see these frequent switching of careers as negative and these type of people face stagnation in rest of their career life. Secondly, these type of people become jack of everything and master of nothing and thus can’t cope with competition in specialized functions.

I would explain this with my own example. I started my career with a large bank doing monotonous tasks. I did get a good salary but I wasn’t satisfied. I got bored with my routine in just six months. I left that job at a bank and joined a small company as an internee but I love the work. Within a short span on 2 to 3 years I jumped hierarchical levels and is now a partner in the company. This happened just because of my interest in my work. My ex-colleagues at bank are at much lower social levels than me.

I would conclude this essay by favoring to choose a career where one enjoys the work rather than by social status or salary. This way one will not only be motivated to work and giving his/her best but will be in better financial position in the long run. Steve jobs was the type of person who pursued his passion and didn’t care about money. Today he is known for innovations he gave to this world. It is worth mentioning here that his net worth was in billions. By pursuing work which one enjoys, a person is capable of miraculous inventions and earning a lot more money than others.