Some people choose a career according to the social status and salary it will give them. Others choose a career according to whether they will enjoy the work.

Which do you think is the best way to choose a career?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been argued for quite a long time whether people should pick their jobs on the basis of pay and public reputation, or according to their interest. However, while I believe that people should choose their professional career as per social dignity and better wages, I also think that they should look for employment, which gives them pleasure during working at the office. In this essay, I will provide further reasons with strong pieces of evidence to support my statement.

To start with, in this modern era, social dignity and better wages are essential for each and every citizen, because it provides a special image to people in society. Earning a good amount of money could be helpful in bearing all personal expenses such as paying rent, health-related expenses, and buying grocery items. The public reputation is helpful in gaining considerable respect as well as a respectful status. Nowadays, there many positions in the job market considered as respectful jobs for example doctors, engineers, and teachers.

On the other hand, many people still believe that choosing a profession of our personal choice is more enjoyable and pleasant. Children take dream during their childhood to achieve a high post in the future and they work hard to get it. If they are able to achieve their childhood goals then they would feel cheerful and happy, because they have earned what they wanted to. In other words, they will enjoy working in the area of their interest, which was their dream since childhood. School students, for instance, choose their stream during school or college time and decide what kind of jobs they would like to do in their adulthood or future.

To sum up, social status plays an important role in building a good image on peers and other people. Similarly, earning well could be helpful to buy costly items like luxurious cars, house, and clothes, which present you as a wealth person among others. But, choosing a job as per our interest could give us pleasure and happiness.