Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

It is quite interesting to know that the number of vegetarians in our society is steadily increasing. Different people choose to be vegetarians for different reasons ranging from cultural beliefs, religion, age and geographical locations.

Though every human requires a balanced diet to maintain a healthy lifestyle but vegetarianism is believed to have some unique advantages health wise too, especially among the older generation.

To begin with, there is a popular saying which goes thus: "health is wealth", and as we grow older, we tend to pay closer attention and be extra careful about our eating habit and health. It is therefore not surprising to discover that majority of the people in the older age bracket fall under the vegetarian category. An example to buttress this is the high volume presence of cholesterol and fat in fishes and meats, which according to doctors, high consumption of this is not a perfect way to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

For some, their religious beliefs doesn't support the killing nor eating of animals. A relatable case is that of muslims. While for some others, their cultural beliefs is that killing and eating of animals is cruelty against the animals.

Personally, i believe vegetarians play a huge role in wild life preservation. Their abstinence from the consumption of meat and fish helps in the conservation of wild life, because with increase demand for fish and meat automatically means the capture and slaughter of animals that would have played a minute role in preventing global warming and keeping the ecological stratosphere balanced.

In conclusion, it is notable to say that the present society maintains a balance between vegetarians and non-vegetarians.