Some people claim that competitive sports could bring different ages and culture together, such as football. Others believe competitive sports cause some problems for groups and nationalities. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views on competitive sports. Some assert these sports work as a glue to unite people, while others believe they bring troubles to people from different regions. This essay will discuss both schools of thought and explain why I am in favour of the former.

People who think competitive sports are detrimental to people’s relationships believe that such sports can elicit resentments among different fans groups. This is because most fans of such sports have a strong sense of honour. Meaning they believe that the team they support is the best team, and therefore, holding a negative attitude towards supporters of other teams. For example, it is common to see in the World Cup that people have disagreement, fights, and even physical violence with fans from a different country. Thus, it is fair to say that some competitive sports split people from different nations.

However, I would agree with people who argue such sports unite people from different backgrounds. The reason behind this is sports lovers can share the same passion and feel a sense of belonging from being a fan of the game. The NBA game, for instance, is a blast for millions of basketball lovers regardless of their age and background. Many people have even made friends with others via sharing information on online NBA platform. Without these competitive games, people will have fewer chances to have a community to interact and form a relationship with others from different age group or cultural background.

In conclusion, it is possible for people from different countries to encounter conflicts or problems when watching competitive sports, as most sports lovers are only loyal to one team. But I still believe that all walks of life can find a sense of community via watching such games, as it provides them with a chance of sharing the same interest which can bring their relationships closer.