Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

One of the pressing issues nowadays is the utilization of waste. More and more people come to a solution that recycling should become the key approach to prevent the ecological catastrophe caused by the excess of garbage. Many say that we as the human race could do better in terms of the percentage of waste recycled, but to achieve this, the government’s interference should be considered. I perfectly agree with this statement and I will explain the reasons why in my essay.

The first reason, why I believe governments should consider playing an active role in waste management is the low human’s discipline and social unconsciousness. Without strict control and motivation people tent to short-term solutions, often because they refuse to see the big picture. For such a global project as protecting the environment, society needs governments to make strategic choices and regulate the important areas of human’s activity, including waste management. A great example of successful waste management provides Germany: in this country, about 75% of waste is being recycled, while, for example, Russia recycles about 4-7% of its total garbage. Germany has achieved this result applying both financial and legislative tools, which proves the idea of a positive outcome in case a government leads the waste management.

The second reason, why governments’ engagement should be considered is that the implementation of waste recycling projects requires certain investments both from businesses and municipalities. For instance, without formal requirements, factories would try to avoid expensive technologies upgrade, which could be eco-friendly, but at the same time drives the product cost up. Thus, legal requirements for recycling the waste would enable the execution for business and municipalities alike.

Of course, the drawback of this concept could not be avoided, meaning the rising cost for the society under potential interference of governments into waste management. But this is the cost citizens would need to take in order to get the solution to waste utilization problem.

To summarize, governments' regulation would enable both households and businesses to change their behaviour in order to achieve a better score on the share of waste to be recycled. It might become one of the necessary steps for future safety environmental and economic consistency.