Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages ?Do you agree or disagree?discuss advantages and disadvantages of having a car?

Many people argue that disadvantages of having a car outweighs its advantages . I completely agree with this notion, as despite being luxurious and helpful in lifesaving situations, it needs heavy maintenance and causes environmental pollution .

On one hand , it is true that owing a car means making your journey enjoyable .A person can have spacious seat to sit, air-conditioned and musical ambience around, and privacy ,thus making his /her ride comfortable ,unlike the public transport where people not even have enough room to stand due to overcrowding, especially during peak hours. Moreover , personal vehicles are always beneficial during emergencies. To illustrate , if a family member is sick and need medical help during odd hours ,where finding cabs,trains or buses are extremely difficult , indeed having car is considered to be a boon.

On the other hand,it is irrefutable to say that four wheelers are not pocket friendly. Buying fuel and maintenance of car are additional expenses in one’s monthly budget .People from the middle socioeconomic background often come across financial instability due to this add on expenditure. Furthermore, automobiles needs fuel to run ,which on burning causes release of carbon dioxide and other toxic gases that are harmful to environment .These fumes are not only causing global warming, which is an alarming issue of present day, but also adds up to air pollution. If people limit the use of personal cars and start using public vehicles , this problem of rise in global temperature will be mitigated to some extend .

In conclusion, although cars provides us luxurious lifestyle and aides in lifethreatening emergency scenarios, its financial burden and perilous effect on the atmosphere cannot be ignored. Therefore, I support the view that cars have more disadvantages than having advantages.