Some people consider price as most important thing to consider when buying a product (such as a cell phone) or a service (e.g. medical treatment). Do you agree or disagree?

Majority of customers often consider cost as a primary determinant while purchasing an item or a facility. I partially agree with this view because many products have a variation in price depending on the social and economic situations.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that products manufactured by many reputed companies often comes with a high price. This is because of the quality and the customer service they offer to their buyers. What is more, these companies try their best to be latest in the research and development aspects thus providing their users with more than what is asked for. For instance, Apple, a major manufacturer of smartphones and laptops is an expensive brand; yet, people are fascinated towards their gadgets.

However, the factors such as demand versus supply, festival seasons and competition frequently come in to picture thus altering the price of the same product by big margins. Thanksgiving holidays are the best example for this scenario. Similarly, the money spent on certain services such as medical treatments or everyday utilities vary depending on economic conditions of a nation. For example, the expenses for attending a doctor in the USA are too high when compared to those in India. Likewise, a smart TV costs too much in India when compared to certain countries due to the underlying levies charged for imports and exports.

To conclude, owing to the socio-economic factors, I think that price is not a fixed variable and hence it is not always a determining factor when investing in a product or a utility.