The trend of increased consumer goods production is damaging the natural environment. Why is it still happening? What are the solutions for this situation?

The modern-day consumerism has given rise to a revolution in the way people are buying. With many feasibilities owning a new product has now become much easy. However, the production of various types of goods is also bringing extra burden to the environment. This is because of the ingredients and after-use wastage involved in the process.

To elaborate, humans are in a continuous need of a range of goods each day. These involve food, groceries, clothing, automobiles, electronics, and etcetera. Consequently, thousands of production units, shopping centers, and supply ways have come in to picture. Subsequently new problems have been emerging which are costing the nature. There are certainly many reasons behind this.

Firstly, tons of plastic, oils, and toxic chemicals are included in the manufacturing, distributing, and selling of different goods, which in some or other form becomes part of the air, water, and even soil. In other words, must elements of survival of any being on this earth are being polluted enormously. Secondly, the unnecessary usage of automobiles too is a big concern. Everyday a major amount of environmental degradation is being caused by the smoke evolving from these.

That being said, the lawmakers and individuals can take responsibility to bring in initiatives that can act as an answer to many of these problems. By avoiding usage of plastic, utilizing public transport, stopping the disposal of toxic waste into water bodies, and using biodegradable products can help to a greater extent.

In essence, while people are enjoying the privilege of availing whatever goods they are wishing for, its’ consequences are costing a fortune to the environment. Therefore it is time for all the people around the world to wake up and act responsibly to avoid further damage to the earth.