Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Although there are few people who opine that advertisements are intended to make individuals purchase items that are unnecessary, there are others who argue that it is an act of educating consumers about the use of latest products. This essay will explain why I think purpose of advertising is to provide information of brand-new goods in the market.

To begin with, the purpose of marketing, an important one is that they need to influence customers to buy a product. This is because there is cost involved in placing a product into the market and eventual goal is to generate sales. To illustrate, if an individual sees an Ad of McDonald’s burger, the instinctive reaction is to buy and eat the burger because of its appearance, but the person is neither hungry nor has the urge to eat a burger. As a result of this, the organizations earn revenues which is the underlying purpose of the Ad campaigns.

On the other hand, the cardinal reasons why firms spend on advertisements are that they want to provide information about the product and differentiate it from competitors. With regards to the former, the final customer needs to know about the goods being purchased, so advertisements are one way of letting out the product information. As for the latter, in the process of informing the buyer about the item, there is also a differentiation that is being created in comparison to similar offerings from a different brand. For instance, Apple, Inc. carries out advertisements to explain how good the product is in terms of features such as video recording, touch sensitivity, and many others that are on offer compared to competing mobile companies. This is the way a company creates a niche for itself in the market.

In conclusion, one of purpose of advertisements is to influence the buyer. However, in my perspective, I agree to the view that they are done to provide information regarding latest products.