Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really

do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that

may improve our lives.

The purpose of advertising is to tell the consumer about any new product or

service or any new promotion on the existing product and service. We need it so we can

make good decisions when we go shopping. Advertising tells us when new and

improved products become available and lets us know which ones have the best price.

Through advertising we learn about new products. For example, many grocery

stores now sell prepackaged lunches. These are very convenient for busy

parents. They can give these lunches to their children to take to school. Busy parents don’t have time to look at every item on the store shelf, so without advertising they might not know about such a convenient new product.

Even products we are familiar with may be improved, and advertising lets us know about this. Most people use cell phones, but new types of cell phone service become available all the time. There are different plans that give you more hours to talk on the phone, you can send text messages and photos, and next week probably some even newer type of service will be available. By watching advertisements on TV it is easy to find out about new improvements to all kinds of products.

Advertisements keep us informed about prices. Prices change all the time, but everyone

can look at the ads in the newspaper and see what the latest prices are. Advertisements also inform us about sales. In fact, some people buy the newspaper only in order to check the prices and plan their weekly shopping.

Advertisements improve our lives by keeping us informed about the latest products

developments and the best prices. Advertisements serve a useful purpose.