Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Few people perceive that a huge time is spent on learning the actualitiesthereby compromising with understanding of the applications of concepts. I agree with statement and will discuss that lack of resources in the campuses and practice of cramming the notes are the two things responsible for such a scenario.

First and the foremost point is that the lack of needed resources in the premise of the institute obstruct the practice of learning by doing. There are teachers who are pure academicians and lack any industry experience with them. Not only this, what If there are no laboratories in the schools and colleges? Thiswill refrain the students from learning the processes and practicality of the concepts.For example, if a teacher has to demonstrate working of any Computer Numerical Code (CNC) machine to a mechanical engineering student, this cannot be done unless there is a CNC lab in the institute. Hence, lack of such resources and expertise will not result in acquiring the practical skills.

Secondly, there is a tendency among the students to cram the answers or notes provided by the teachers. Beyond this they are unable to think as their creativity is blocked the moment educators start feeding them with readymade material. For example, lot of faculty have a habit of dictating the notes in the classes. In such a scenario, no practical skills are developed within the students. Therefore, it is the need of the hour that instructors start involving students in brainstorming and discussion so as to make the learning meaningful.

To conclude, I opine that for any kind of learning to be effective and enduring, it is important to make available the resources in the schools and colleges/universities and also discourage the culture of passive learning in the classes.