In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families, individuals and society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The booming trend of eating junk food has taken over the place of traditional food in numerous nations which has adverse affects on families, individuals and community as a whole. This essay firmly advocates the notion since, firstly, cultural erosion is promoted by the same and secondly, encouraging an unhealthy lifestyle of a person.

Initiating with the foremost reason, foods related to one’s own tradition has an advantage that by eating it, people still remain closer to their roots and ethics. However, if fast food is in taken which is always a cuisine originating from abroad, people end up getting attracted towards the culture of that country as they get an urge to explore more about other areas of that region. This can be illustrated from the article of Travel India Blog which revealed that food has been the most alluring factor in proliferating the rate of tourists. Thereby, forgetting one’s own culture that will make them distant from family members and eventually, from community too.

Apart from this, substitution of traditional food can be detrimental in terms of health of an individual since junk food is lower in nutritional value and higher in unwanted components leading to unhealthy food consumption of people. Even, many are found to be prone to diseases such as obesity, indigestion, liver disorders etcetera which can further create other problems. The best instance would be the alarming rate of obesity among Americans as per the reports of WHO and its major factor is the consumption of handy food they buy from food outlets. Hence, fast food has that ability to ruin the total health of a person.

To reiterate, it can be said that undoubtedly, fast food has offered convenience and taste, but its repercussions are long term as people get lured towards other culture and also, making them unhealthy. Thus, I would suggest its intake in times of need only.