Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is an undoubted fact that public health has been always a matter of great interest. However, some individuals are of the opinion that the government should provide more leisure amenities. While, others, believe that this solution has less impact on public health. ln this essay I intend to discuss both perspectives. I, however, believe that there are more measures could have much more effect on public health.

Advocates of expanding sports facilities believe that today's lifestyle and stressful working environment mean that physical activity is no longer part of either our work or our leisure time. If there were easy-to-reach local sports centers, we would be more likely to make exercise a regular part of our life. The variety of sports that could be offered would cater for all ages, level of fitness and interests. For instance, those who live far from downtown find it is harder to re-take this trip after long day work.

On the flip side, there may be better ways of tackling this problem. A public awareness campaign about the dangers a sedentary lifestyle can have on one’s fitness would affect not only people’s well-being but also their understanding of the issue. This is because most men and women are unaware of the harm they are doing to themselves by not exercising regularly and warning them about the risk factors would have a motivating effect. For instance, the ‘Go walking’ campaign in Northern Ireland in 2006 led to obesity-related illnesses, like heart disease and stroke, falling by almost a quarter.

In conclusion, although an increased availability of sports centers can influence the wellness of the public to a certain extent, it is only through education that the real benefits can be realised.