Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The declining level of public health has become a serious issue in modern times. It is believed that an increasing number of sports facilities can tackle this issue. However, others believe this approach would not be enough to enhance public health. In my opinion, there are a few more important measures that should be considered.

To begin with, nowadays people tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle, do desk jobs, spend spare time on watching TV or play computer games. Therefore, people argue that accessible local sports facilities are the perfect way to make citizens exercise more and, as a result, become healthier. Undoubtedly, convenient sports facilities in the neighborhood would be interesting to residents and might be a good place for family members.

However, it is believed that sports facilities would attract already fit people and would not be used by people who were aimed to. So other measures to enhance public health are required. First of all, taxes for tobacco, alcohol and fast food industries should be improved in order to persuade people to use buses or the subway instead of cars. The reason there is that people walk more to bus stations than to their cars. Finally, education should be involved in the process of solving public health problems. It is important to teach children the way to maintain a healthy lifestyle and keep fit.

In conclusion, additional sports facilities may help to maintain public health. Nevertheless, the improvement of citizens' health requires more serious measures. In my opinion, developed public transportation, strict regulations of tobacco, alcohol and fast food industries, and proper education of the next generation may be very effective in tackling this issue.