Some people say it is important to keep your home and your workplace tidy, with everything organized and in the correct place. What is your opinion about this?

Some opine that it is vital to maintain tidiness and cleanliness at home as well as at your workplace by keeping everything in the right order, while another school of thought have opposing views. In my opinion, I completely concur because a clean environment increases creativity while organizing makes it easy to spot things.

To begin with, cleanliness cannot be forced and it is a deeply embedded virtue. It is believed that a clean space results in a clear mind, thus helping one to think better. Although, some may argue that organizing can be tiresome and boring, it is known to stimulate the brain to function in an orderly manner. Moreover, since your thought process gets clearer, the same reflects in your work or personal life. For instance, according to a recently documented survey many creative people namely writers and poets, believed that they were more productive and could function better in a clean area rather than in a messy room. Consequently, proving that there is a co-relation between cleanliness and productivity.

Similarly, arranging things in an orderly manner is advantageous as it eases any panic situations that arises when something is lost or misplaced. Items that are frequently used are kept within the vision range whereas, those that are sparsely used are kept further behind. Furthermore, if the items are clearly marked, it eliminates searching, as everything is easily available. For example, in a supermarket, items are distinctly labelled and displayed making it easier for the customers to make an informed decision before purchase. As a result, organization simplifies the process of identifying things.

In conclusion, according to a common quote - "cleanliness is close to godliness" it is absolutely essential to maintain discipline and structure at home and work. Even though it may not have any unusually drastic effects, it helps in making finding easier along with ensuring complete focus on work.