Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.Do you agree or disagree?

This is certainly a very interesting question. Does what a person wear tell us so much about their culture and personality or not? I tend to agree that clothes can tell us some basic things but that they do not tell us much more about those basic things.

First of all, I will consider how a person’s choice of clothes reveal their culture. This is true is some ways, for example, in many countries people have a distinctive national style of wear, and some particular clothes and fabrics are typical of certain areas. Therefore, clothes can sometimes reveal the ethnic origins and culture of a person, but as many people nowdays dress in business suits or jeans and T-shirts worldwide this is becoming less and less true.

As character is concerned, we can tell in some places if the wearer of clothes is a follower of fashion. Another aspect of dress is wether the clothes look clean and ironed or grubby and very causal. This might tell us how much concerned they are about to be smart. However, the way someone dresses can also be misleading at times. There are some people which wears clothes that seems very unusual and strange but often they are just following fashion and are not unusual or strange people in their personalities at all.

To sum up, I would say that we can find out something about a person from their style of dress but only the surface things, and not the deeper character.