Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The changes in atmosphere have become rapid in the last few decades. Some people think the loss of specific flora and fauna has led to environmental damage. While others believe that there are other significant problems in our terrain. This essay will delve into both the assertions and I extend my support to the latter view in the below paragraphs.

In the last century alone hundreds of species of plants and animals were extincted as a result of man made blunders. Firstly, deforestation caused several birds to lose their homes and in search of new abodes, they are migrating to other places, which is disturbing the ecosystem. Secondly, marine life was reduced to 60% in the 20th century, as hundreds of blue whales were hunted down, as their oil was used in lighting lamps, before electricity was invented. Another heart breaking example is turtles generally go back to their birth place to lay eggs. Recently in Maldives, a turned airport runway is a former breeding ground to hundreds of turtles,unaware of this they laid eggs on the runway. Thus, human interference has done immense damage to flora and fauna.

On the other hand, few perceive the rise in global temperatures is something we need to worry, as the alarming records emphasise how significant it is for us, to focus on the core problem. It this trend continues without any action being taken, entire life’s existence is at stake. According to an interview by a senior seismologist, the earth’s crust has been moving rapidly like never before, this could turn awry in no time, killing every species on earth due to natural calamities. Adding to this, In the last year, the highest number of earthquakes and volcanic eruptions occurred. Hence, I think, focusing on reducing carbon emission should be our utmost priority in the near future.

To conclude, although being responsible in saving flora and fauna is important, however, I believe that our overall focus should be on reducing global temperatures. Therefore, human interference with the environment should be avoided as it is catastrophic to the entire life.