Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has always been a key distinguisher of culture, but many believe that it can also bridge the cultural gaps as well as age differences. This essay agrees with this statement because, firstly, no cultural barriers are applied to understanding messages embedded in music, and secondly, some youths prefer older creations.

Music does a lot to alleviate the cultural gap through the perspective of universal humanity. Even though one may not understand another culture, he can still understand the meaning and emotions of the music. One great example of this would be Bob Marley’s songs. Even though he lived in a small country called Jamaica, his songs have become influential all around the world, and with that, their culture. He expressed universal feelings of love, empathy and positivity against the national political corruption using his musical skills, and they have been translated across cultural divides.

The prime reason to believe in music as a unifier for different age groups, I think, is due to the fact that a considerable proportion of millennials being attached to the old music. The contribution to the music industry by previous generations are not only famous but invaluable. Beethoven’s pieces, for example, cannot be matched and they are valued by old and young generations alike. This becomes a common denominator between age groups to connect with each other. Moreover, live concerts will act as a platform to meet these people and share their experiences.

In conclusion, even though cultural and generational differences are significant in terms of music, those differences have made people with similar likings closer. It is especially important, at a time when the world appears to be more divided than ever, that we find common ground to build relationships upon.