Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teaching young minds the art of handwriting is acknowledged unessential task by certain people due to sophisticated era. Even though some people see eye to eye with this proposal, I am strongly in disagreement of this suggestion.

It is easy to see why some individuals favor this recommendation. They believe that rapid technological revolution has delivered an astronomical number of exams which are conducted on computers. Therefore, why to bother children about the strict mechanisms of handwriting when there is the availability of cutting-edge technology to take test? For example, CD-IELTS, English language test, is conducted with the help of computers, replacing the manual pen paper IELTS test. Thus, for these individuals it is highly unimportant to polish the handwriting skills of young ones.

Despite these people’s view, I personally hold a belief that children should be acquainted with the skills of handwriting. This is simply because it not only boosts their academics’ performance but also makes them eligible to acquire jobs where handwriting plays imperative part. If handwriting is legible in examinations, it leaves good impression on the examiner who checks that paper; consequently, he does not hesitate to give grace marks to candidate which in turn improves his grades. Besides, being familiar with art of handwriting means one has the ability to seek jobs such as calligraphy which is aimed at teaching children skills of handwriting. In short, why to ignore the handwriting when it provides assistance in notching the top slot in academics and employment?

Conclusively, despite the fact that cutting-edge technology has invented number of tests which one can take instead of traditional way of attempting that test, I firmly believe that it is necessary to guide young ones about the art of handwriting.