Some people say that protecting the environment is the governments responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although, people differ in the opinion, it is the fact the saving our environment is a need of hour.

Some opine that governments should take the ownership in this regard others says that it is a responsibility of every individual. Without any prejudice, let us discuss both views in this essay. However, I believe that efforts of both governments and individuals are important and both have the shared responsibility of saving environment.

Let us first examine the reasons, why some people think that governments should take the responsibility of addressing the environmental problems. The main aim of the government is to work for the welfare of people and to provide them a better standard of living. The governments can make strict rules and regulations to prevent environmental damage. The governments should make industrial laws and instruct industries to use green source of energy and make waste treatment plants in their premises. Furthermore, governments can participate to take collective actions at international levels to control pollution and other environmental related problems for example rise in temperature, melting glaciers and scarcity of drinking water. Better exchange of technology and resources can be done to mitigate environmental problems.

On the other hand, efforts done at an individual level are equally important to save the environment. Individuals can reduce the use of vehicles and plastics in their daily life. People can promote the use of recycling of materials to reduce the waste production. Every individual can contribute to save environment by growing tress, saving water and by using solar energy.

To conclude, we can restate that efforts should be done at war footing levels to protect our environment, for which governments and individuals should share the responsibilities. It is rightly said that prevention is better than cure.

Sincere efforts must be done to save environment before it gets too late.