Some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events.

Do you think this is positive or negative development?

We are living in an era that means of entertainment has changed compared to past decades. Although many people follow more recently emerged methods and lifestyles, many other still defend the older ways such as spending money on tickets to attend sporting and cultural events. While I admire the preference of the latter group, I think the contrariwise. In this essay, both sides of the argument, as well as my own opinion, is briefly discussed.

Supporters argue that the first and perhaps the most obvious benefit of the mentioned trend is the contribution of people to local facilities’ maintenance. When people buy tickets for sports matches or cultural events, the money can be allocated to improve the premises and venues that these types of events are being held. Furthermore, the money that is spent on tickets can be allocated to preserve local tradition, be it sporting heritage or cultural customs. Because this capital encourages people to continue their activities related to this trend.

On the contrary side, it cannot be denied that this development has some major drawbacks as well. First and foremost, it is government's responsibility to encourage youngsters or pay for the public facilities’ maintenance, not the public's. Secondly, buying tickets and then going to an event is inconvenient. With the development and ever-growing enhancement of technology, people are attracted to more comfortable means of entertainment. For example, one can watch a sports match or a cultural documentary on the internet at home which has a more comfortable and friendlier atmosphere. Last but not least, I think the tickets for the mentioned events are usually overpriced and scarcely affordable, especially if you consider the free coverage of the events on television and internet. Football ticket price is a good example. On average, they cost 50 pounds per ticket. One can watch the match at home with friends and spend the money on other ventures instead.

All in all, while many people believe that buying tickets and spending a lot of money on them is beneficial, I do not think this is necessarily true. Due to mentioned points, I strongly believe the negative side of this development outweighs the positive side.