It is not necessary to have access to the Internet to live a full life.

What is your opinion?

One of the trends that have been the subject of debate among people is the necessity of internet access to live a full life. Although it seems that modernization has rendered older ways obsolete and is forcing the majority of people to practice new methods, people have conflicting views about the aforementioned subject. In this essays, both sides of this argument, including my view on the subject will be comprehensively discussed.

The critiques believe the most significant disadvantages of the internet is that it promotes the solitary life and forces the users to distant themselves from a healthy social life. They argue that internet is addictive and prevents people from natural interaction with others. Take online social networks as an example, people spend so much time in these virtual social media that they forget how to talk to a human being eye to eye. Another convincing explanation for disagreeing with the ever-growing use of the internet is that it makes people indolent and prevent them from committing to their responsibilities. Like students that disregard their homework and spend their valuable time on surfing the internet.

On the other hand, many people, myself included, believe the advantages of internet access are so important that it is almost vital in the era in which we live. The fact that using the internet is more convenient is undeniable. For example, online shopping terminates the unnecessary activities such as traveling a distance and the headache of rush hour and traffic congestion to buy a product, hence, this saved time can be considered an improvement of life quality. Moreover, internet access is an essential necessity of modern scientific research. In the past, scientists and grad students had to spend months in libraries and archives in order to find the content they needed. Thanks to the internet, this time has decreased to few weeks if not hours.

In conclusion, on the basis of the points mentioned above, it would seem that the benefits of internet access outweigh the risks to a degree that makes it a vital part of our lives.