More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

In recent times the number of people who prefer to drive their own car rather than use public transport has increased. It is needless to say this trend has significant effects on the ecosystem and adds to the long list of challenges that public and government face. In this essay, some of the reasons that cause this unfortunate problem and some possible ways of motivation the masses to use this public service will be comprehensively introduced.

While there is a cascade of the reason that might cause people to distant themselves from public transport, the first and perhaps the main reason for this trend is the age of public transport system. Many people stop this service because they claim the majority of vehicles such as buses and trains in service are out of date, noisy and dirty. Moreover, they are usually late and crowded. The last time I tried to use public transport, I had to wait almost half an hour for a bus to arrive. Consequently, I was late for an important interview.

When there is a problem, there are solutions, and The challenge at hand is not an exception. Firstly, the public transportation fleet should be renewed, therefore, the replacement of older vehicles is a step in the right direction. In addition, free transport on certain days especially weekends will encourage people to use the service. Last but not least, development of lines and covering more parts of the city offers a more permanent solution that makes the public transport more practical and convenient for the people.

To sum it up, although the decreasing rate of using public transport can be caused by many reasons, policies such as renewal of the transport fleet or further development of the infrastructure can be adapted to tackle this challenge.