Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help local community. They believe this would benefit both individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree.

Many people assume that voluntary job should be a compulsion for youngsters.

While I agree can be beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole, I

believe that obligation is unequal.

On the one hand, I agree there are several reasons why unpaid job is advantageous

for both teenagers and society as a whole. The main adequacy is that teenager may

accumulate real experiences and valuable skills for their future career through

unpaid works. In addition, those accomplishments emphasize specific professional

capabilities and utilize experience summaries, which are necessary for pursuing

higher education and career promotion. Eventually, this is one way to save money

for society's budget to invest in public welfare.

On the other hand, I would argue force goes against the values of a free and fair

society. The first reason is that complying with the non-profit programs to do

unpaid works may cause resentment and misunderstanding about volunteering job.

Moreover, overwhelming pressure of studying at school requires a great deal of free

time spending on sports and relaxation. In other words, students are busy enough

with many assignments that need to be perfectly completed.

In conclusion, while compulsion certainly affects teenagers’ intention of doing

voluntary works, I do not believe that pressure outweighs all other motivators.