Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These are those who claim that those who study in university ought to be allowed to pick any subject they wish. At the same time, many aver that students should take only those subjects that are beneficial for them. The second prospect is in accordance with my opinion. Below both points of view will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, giving students freedom of choice and allowing them to act on their discretion might bring them feeling of happiness and satisfaction but it seems that the proposal is plagued with same dire drawbacks. Perhaps, the most conspicuous one is that being a professional in any field assumes that the graduated students have acquired during education all needed knowledge but if they were given an opportunity to study whatever they want, it is highly possible that some information that is essential would not be absorbed because they did not like it. To illustrate, it is needless to say that a surgeon who preferred study astronomy instead of anatomy could not work or be called a professional. In other words, the first prospect seems to have a major flaw.

On the other hand, there are young people who are limited in their choice by authorities. This policy will guarantee that the alumni possess of needed skills and volume of knowledge. For instance, an architect will know maths, physics and how to draw and read blueprints. In other words, studying in university will turn yesterday students into valuable professionals who are able to perform their job well. Therefore, requiring the students to study only beneficial courses is reasonable and desirable.

To sum up, a freedom to study any subject may be perceived like an attractive proposal; however, its implementation could and probably would lead to many negative consequences that may be avoided if students’ choice of subjects is curbed by university personnel. Furthermore, ascribing their subjects will reassure that alumni will have all needed knowledge.